Photojournalism Faculty 2011

As promised in an earlier post, here are some more PJ faculty introductions!……………and a scary photo!

We are all looking forward to the start of another great year at Loyalist! From the back row, (l to r) are; Patti Gower, Scott Whalen, Daniel Williams, Gord Horne, and in the front row, l to r are Bill White and Frank O'Connor

Here’s Patti! – After spending 18 years working in Toronto as a photojournalist, both as a staff photographer and later as a freelancer, I joined the Loyalist photojournalism team in 2008.   It was like coming home – I am also a graduate of the program! I will be teaching in the Intro to Photojournalism course with Frank, Doug and Bill as well as teaching second year Documentary.   My college email is pgower@loyalistc.on.ca and phone number 613-969-1913 x 2636.  Please contact any of us if you have questions and/or concerns.  Welcome!

And Scott Whalen!- I have been a writing teacher and word editor at Loyalist for 15 years. The focus of my journalism career was newspaper reporting, writing and editing. I care about telling the best story possible, whether that is through visuals or text — or better yet, both. It is wonderful to be able to open up the world of journalism to students. My phone number is 613 969-1913, ext. 2287 and you can always email me at swhalen@loyalistc.on.ca

And Daniel Williams! – Back to school is such an exciting time of the year and I am very excited to be entering my fourth year here at Loyalist College.  Over the past four years, I have taught several courses in the program including History of Photojournalism, Journalism Ethics, Multimedia and Web Pages and Digital Portfolio. As a graduate of the Loyalist Photojournalism program, I have insight into the student experience and I am always up for a chat about your experiences. Send me a line if you want to chat.  dwilliams@loyalistc.on.ca

And now Bill White! –

I have worked in a support staff position in the Loyalist College photojournalism program for 24 years. I’ve also been lucky enough to have some teaching allotment during that time and this year, I will be part of a team working with first year students in the “Intro to Photojournalism” course. My photographic time before Loyalist and as a freelancer after has been in the editorial market. You can reach me by email at bwhite@loyalistc.on.ca or by phone at 613.969.1913X2272. I can’t wait for the new semester to begin.

And Gord Horne!-  I have taught at Loyalist for number of years and I have been teaching in the Photojournalism program for the last ten years. My background and current passion includes stock photography and computer software. I will be teaching you “Software for Photojournalists”, which this semester concentrates on Adobe Photoshop, Adobe Bridge and PhotoMechanic. I look forward to helping you improve your technical skills in the area of computer hardware and software. If you have any questions email ghorne@loyalistc.on.ca  or call 613-969-1913 #2380.

About loyalistpjblog

coordinator Loyalist College Photojournalism Program
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

